Nathan Fake – Vanish North (2014)


As included in the Bleep:10 compilation to released on May 5th, 2014. Also featured on the compilation are exclusive tracks from Autechre, Fuck Buttons, Oneohtrix Point Never, Modeselektor, Lone, Gas, Untold, Shackleton, Machinedrum, Dabrye, Nosaj Thing, U-Ziq and Byetone.


Liars – Pro Anti Anti (2014)


“Pro Anti Anti” will be released on 30 June (EU) & 1 July (US) on coloured vinyl & download bundle. It features remixes by Factory Floor, London’s Truss, mysterious Melbourne collective Nest Of Teens & a Daniel Miller’s radio mix. It also includes an exclusive new track ‘Waste Fraud’.

Ryoji Ikeda – Supercodex (2013)


Supercodex is the final album of the Ryoji Ikeda‘s trilogy on Raster-Noton since 2005 (1st: Dataplex r-n068, 2nd: Test Pattern r-n093) that has been exploring the potentials between „data of sound“ and „sound of data“. Ikeda integrated, differentiated and re/de/meta-constructed the music of previous 2 albums and that of his other art installations/projects. Supercodex is also inter-related with Ikeda‘s new long-term project „superposition“ since 2012 that focuses on quantum information. It consists of performance piece (2 performers on stage) and forthcoming installation works in the future. The new live set of Supercodex was premiered in Tokyo in November 2013 and toured internationally after then.

Alex Smoke – GreenMan (2014)


Alex Smoke returns to R&S with the follow up to his transfixing debut ‘Dust’. He has delivered a full EPs worth of mesmeric music, which is quite possibly the most dancefloor material he has released in some time. ‘GreenMan’s sinusoidal funk follows on in the vein of ‘Dust’, shuffling drum programming, snaking melody lines and Alex’s hiccupping vocodered vox combine to anthemic effect. ‘LSD’ lives up to its name with a spacious, yet urgent acidic-hymnal. On the flip, ‘Oni’ reimagines a dancehall rave-up for the 31st century, all skanking digi-pecussion and trumpet like arpeggios, while ‘Tommy Knockers”s brutal blade-runner bounce adds some muscle to proceedings, spiraling synth riffs and gurgling drones.

Alex Niggemann- Materium (2014)


Poker Flat Recordings welcomes back the ever-prolific Alex Niggemann for another speaker-troubling dispatch. This time the Aeon and Soulfooled boss drops a heavy-duty release that more than lives up to his usual high standards.

‘Materium’ is epic in every sense of the word – a sprawling, tough journey into analogue techno with a dash of house thrown in. It rips through the speakers – the crisp and aggressive production provides the space for growling synths and atmospheric, tense pads. What’s more, the whole track audaciously dissolves into silence mid way through – before exploding back into life via a descending analog synth line.

‘Primary’ is no less dramatic but opts for a dubbier vibe as it builds and releases the ever-present tension. It’s hard, moody, electronic funk for afterhours, basements and warehouses.